Assessment of Priority Areas within Australia for 2020-21

The priority areas listed below have been agreed with the relevant state or territory and indicate the priority for the Radiation Oncology Health Program Grants (ROHPG) scheme.

Page last updated: 27 February 2020

Consultation with each state and territory health department has confirmed priority areas for 2020-21 are as follows:

New Priority Areas

The following new priority areas have been identified:

  • New South Wales
    • Western New South Wales Local Health District
  • Queensland
    • Cairns and Hinterland Hospital and Health Service Region

Applications for the above two priority areas will be accepted from 24 April 2020 and will close until further notice on 22 May 2020.

The process for applications for new priority areas (NPAs) will be as follows:

  • Applications for NPAs will open eight weeks after being published on Health website.
  • Applications for the NPAs will be accepted for a period of four weeks then close until further notice.
  • Applications for a NPA will be considered together and assessed against the criteria at Clause 6.2 of the Guidelines.
  • When the Minister, or their Delegate, has made a decision to approve a ROHPG funding application for a health service in a NPA, the applicants will be notified of the decision and the newly approved facility will be added to the list of ROHPG funded facilities on the Department’s website.
  • Applications for the NPA will then reopen and be accepted at any time on an ongoing basis throughout the year.
  • In the event that no applications are received for a NPA in the initial four week application period, applications will be assessed on a “first come, first served” basis.

Continuing Priority Areas

The following continue to be existing priority areas:

  • Western Australia
    • Midwest Region;
    • Wheatbelt Region; and
    • South Metro Region.
  • South Australia
    • Central Adelaide; and
    • Northern Adelaide.

Applications will be accepted at any time on an ongoing basis throughout the year and will be assessed on a “first come, first served” basis.

No Identified Priority Areas

The below states and territories currently have no identified priority areas:

  • Victoria
  • Tasmania
  • Australian Capital Territory
  • Northern Territory